Eyes of Artists

Jacob Aue Sobol

Posted in photographers by Corey Presha on February 3, 2009

jacobauesobol01

– I love Jacob Aue Sobol’s grainy black and white photos. His work is often compared to Shomei Tomatsu and Daido Moriyama. These are from his new series I, Tokyo, his follow up to his acclaimed Sabine series. He is currently a nominee for Magnum Photos and and will have a show at Yossi Milo Gallery this year.

Now living in Tokyo sometimes I feel my ability to see and experience is proportional with how difficult accessible my objects are. I have to break through my own walls and prejudices to reach the core of what I think I am looking for. If I exceed the limit of the people I photograph it is not to hurt or humiliate them. It is more an unplanned almost methodical necessity, where the purpose is to show the limits of my own abilities. My ambition is not only to challenge myself and my view on life, but also that of others. And to challenge what I feel photography can be. I want to unfold a private universe and involve the viewer in other peoples inner lives.

jacobauesobol02

jacobauesobol04

©  Jacob Aue Sobol
See more of his work here.

Leave a Reply

