Eyes of Artists

Greg Krauss

Posted in photographers by Corey Presha on September 23, 2009

gregkrauss03
– I got an email from Greg Krauss the other day about his series The Dreamer. I first saw Greg’s work at last years SVA Mentor Show, he was definitely one of my favorite photographers of the night and I’ve been meaning to make a post about his work since then. His dreamlike photographers portray his fathers struggle with sleep apnea as well as the role of men in society today.

Sleep apnea – a serious sleep disorder that occurs when a person’s breathing is interrupted during sleep. People with untreated sleep apnea stop breathing repeatedly during their sleep, sometimes hundreds of times. My father was diagnosed with sleep apnea this year. He uses a machine in order to sleep. This whole concept of a sort of artificial sleep was very intriguing. This series is an exploration of the psychology of my father and men in general. I created dreamlike scenes in order to address this subject through my own machine, the camera. It is a question of the surreal vs. reailty. It is an investigation of the vulnerability that everyone experiences. The images discuss masculinity and the male role in society. They bring out the inner youth of an older man, longing to be young again. An analysis of his inner conflicts and insecurities. The man I will eventually become in my own way.

gregkrauss01
gregkrauss02
© Greg Krauss
See more work here.

Leave a Reply

